Back to all

The 4 phases of the atkins diet

Updated on Mar 11, 2024
1 min read

The Atkins diet is a weight loss diet that focuses on decreasing your carbohydrate input. This diet is divided into 4 phases.

If you want to know how to follow Atkins diet, you must have the knowledge of the Atkins diet phases in detail. So, let’s discuss them one by one.

Atkins diet phases

Here’s everything you need to know about the 4 phases of Atkins diet.

1. Induction

During this phase of the Atkins diet, you have to consume below 20 grams of carbs a day for two weeks. This is the phase where the weight loss process begins.

You need to increase the amount of fats and proteins in your diet in this phase while keeping carb consumption at the lowest possible level.

Having low-carb veggies with every meal is highly recommended.

2. Balancing

This is the phase of the Atkins diet where you start to slowly include low-carb veggies, nuts, and some low-carb fruits in your diet.

The focus of this phase is to have a balanced diet schedule and minimize the number of prohibited foods.

3. Fine-tuning

Once you are near your target weight, the third phase of the Atkins diet starts. This is the phase where you can shift to a high-carb diet gradually. The aim of this stage is to slow down the weight loss process.

This is achieved by the slow addition of carbs to the diet. You’ll need to keep an eye on your weight all this time so that you can stop adding more carbs once your weight stabilizes.

4. Maintenance

In the final stage of the Atkins diet, you are allowed to consume as many healthy carbs as your body can process without gaining weight.

The aim here is to maintain your weight at the desired level without increasing or decreasing it.

The last phase of the Atkins diet will last many years and will become a part of your lifestyle to make sure that you maintain the desired body weight.